Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am totally new to having fish and they keep dying. I realize its because I cant seem to keep the water right. I started with a 55 gallon tank but 12 of my original 14 fish have died so I downsized to a 20 gal. I have 2 grown adults and 11 fish that are 10 months old but are still not an inch long! That I discovered is due to the improper food I was feeding them, now I know better and they ARE growing. But I have water issues now more than ever. I realize using straight distilled water is wrong so I need help knowing haw much tap water, aquraium salt, aqueon PURE, seachem PRIME and STABILITY to add. My tank is tested with AQUARIUM test strips and the results are as follows
GH 150
NITRATE 50
NITRITE 10
CL 0
ALKALINITY 120
KH 80
PH 7.2
Any help will be GREATLY appreciated!

·
Registered
7 aquaria: live plants, shrimp, snails, celestial danios, white clouds, corys, ottos...
24 Posts
Hi clwcats,

With regard to aquarium size, I have always found it easier to stabilize a larger tank than smaller tanks, which seem much more reactive to changes.

Patience will be very helpful in successfully establishing an aquarium. It will take a little time to cycle and stabilize the tank, and adding livestock before that happens is very risky and high mortality rates can occur.

I am concerned about your nitrite and nitrate levels. Both are very high for a new tank - are we seeing residual levels from your fish mortality? Does your incoming water supply already contain nitrites/nitrates? I would suggest testing your incoming water supply. If this is 'clean', then I would do a major water change before bothering with any additives. If your incoming water does contain nitrites/nitrates, then a large dosage of 'Prime' should help.

Does your test kit check for ammonia? Dead fish, overfeeding and/or high waste levels will cause high levels of ammonia, which can be very damaging to fish.