Tropical Fish Keeping banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

Im new to TFK and have a question regarding my black molly.

We acquired 2 mollies at the beinning of January this year and a little less than 2 weeks later they both give birth (within a day of each other) to 16 fry, 11 black and 5 white.

They were due to have more fry around a week ago (I think) but neither one has let them go yet, I have been watching and waiting but nothing. They are doing everything I would expect of them (head down, tail up. Boxing, isolating themselves etc) but nothing.

I have noticed on the black molly she has a white ring around her anal gland that I managed to get a photo of. Is this her birth canal opening up? It has been like this for around a week now.

Any help on what this is, and why they havent dropped their fry yet would be much appreciated.

Oh, water temp is 36C/82F, PH=7.5, NO2=0, NO3=20 and they are currently in a 90litre tank but I have a tank seperater in until they drop so they have around 20litre of space.

If I've missed anything just ask :)

Many Thanks

· Registered
1,876 Posts
That white ring is called a vent. It's normally something you have to search for, but when it starts showing it often means they're just about to give birth and are opening up for it. It can still take a couple days, but usually once the vent shows they pop within 12-48 hours, usually sooner, but they have been known to take three or four days.