Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had this posted on another forum before noticing there was one especially for shrimp...

I'm new to keeping Red Cherry Shrimp, I have had 6 in an 8 gallon tank with my male Betta for a week now, so far everyone is getting along fine (some chasing and a few nips here and there but I've actually seen the shrimp chase my Betta too!).

Anyway, can anyone tell what is normal behaviour for Red Cherry Shrimp? They have been quite active and eating well, my tank is now sparkling clean from the little algae I did have. Sometimes I notice one or two will start swimming laps around the tank, and swim up to the surface a few times, is this a sign of anything good or bad?

All my water parameters are normal and the tank is planted, not densely but it's getting there.

I've noticed it's mostly a female with a yellow saddle darting around the most, she seems agitated and is possibly trying to escape the tank. The other shrimp are behaving normally. Is this something I should be concerned about?
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
3 Posts
When I had ghost shrimp I had a couple that would swim up to the surface and try to steal food from the fish at feeding time. The coming up to the surface should be normal, but I don't know about the frantic movements.

·
Registered
1,764 Posts
I though most shrimp move around in a frantic manner. The ones at my LFS are like mad - they so fast zooming around the place! ;-)

·
Registered
679 Posts
I've had mine about a month and here is what I have observed: