Tropical Fish Keeping banner
1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to the whole aquarium thing, but am fascinated by it. I've decided to try out this adventure with a new 29 gallon set up. The plan is to set it up today so it can run for a bit before adding any fish, giving me time to do more research and ideas on the what to add. I'm basing it on compatibility and stocking levels.
I've been doing a lot of research as far as starting up, and came across this forum. Seems like just what I need! I've learned so much so far, but I'm just beginning so I need all the help I can get.
I understand that you should let your tank run at least 48 hours before adding anything. I've heard varying time frames though. Some say upwards of a week. Which do you think is best and why? I don't want to rush things and cause problems, so I'm willing to hear suggestions and ideas!
I also heard you should start with a few hardy fish, then gradually work your way up as your tank stabilizes. What would be the best recommendations?
I am confused and need some straightening out! This probably sounds so dumb, but I need to clear up any confusion I have. What is the difference between cories, loaches, and plecos? Can they be put together? Should they be paired up in any way? Do they get along with most fish?

It's a 29 gallon freshwater. I don't really like goldfish, so I'm hoping for a more "exotic" tropical type theme. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Thanks crazie eddie!
We got it set up today, and it looks pretty nice for now. The aquarium kit came with some dechlorination treatment for a 29 gallon, so we added that.

As far as plecos, cories, and loaches, I was confusing them with the term algea eaters. I was always fascinated with watching them(plecos?).