Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Evening All.

This is my first time seriously keeping fish.
I bought a 10 gallon tank from petsmart. The full starter kit from Top Fin. Came with a heater, filter/pump, thermometer, and light. I put gravel at the bottom (off hand I don't know the total amount but it was the recommended amount based on the gallon amount.) I have some fake plants and a few little decorations.

I didn't do a heck of a lot of research about it and just jumped right in. Filled it with water straight from the kitchen sink, let the fish acclimate for 15 minutes in the bag, and off they went. I realize after the fact now that proper care would have been to cycle the tank for some time without fish and all that. I have no idea what I would have had to do with it but yeah. Anyway, I put in my fish and with the exception of the neon tetras, everything has been fine. I also have found that I may have overstocked at first and so that along with not properly cycling could have attributed to it all.

Day one I put in the following:

2- Dalmatian Mollies
2- Black Mollies
2- Tequila Sunrise Delta Guppies(I think)
2- Tuxedo Guppies
6- Neon Tetras

Again, I didn't do proper research until after the fact and I know that is too much fish for a 10 gallon tank.

I went out for the day and by the time I came home, all of the 6 Neon Tetras were dead. The Guppies and Mollies were all acting kind of sluggish and odd when I got home but it seemed like a few minutes after I took the dead Neons out, they perked up. It has been a week. All of the guppies and mollies are doing just fine. They are lively and happy. I decided I wanted to try some Tetras again in the mix. I introduced 4 Neon Tetras and 2 that were called Glow Light Tetras. They are the same as the neons but are a red version it looks like.