Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my first tank a couple months ago. It's a 20gal I inherited (along with some Cories I would not have chosen myself) from family who got tired of the hobby. I'm super excited to get started!

I got the tank cleaned up and all but one of the Cories made it through the transition. Now I'm trying to decide the direction I will go from here. When I see all the beautiful pictures of planted tanks you guys post I really want to get new substrate (what came with it is pink plastic-y looking gravel stuff) and do a planted aquarium, but when I read all the research material on planted aquariums I get a bit overwhelmed.

So here's my question: As a total beginner will plants make the whole process more complicated or less so?

If you do think plants are a good idea... which ones do I start with and where do I get them? (I live an hour away from the nearest "Fish store"... We have a PetCo and PetSmart but that's it. Are there website I can buy my supplies?)

Thanks in advance for any help!!! :-D

·
Registered
1,676 Posts
I just got my first tank a couple months ago. It's a 20gal I inherited (along with some Cories I would not have chosen myself) from family who got tired of the hobby. I'm super excited to get started!

I got the tank cleaned up and all but one of the Cories made it through the transition. Now I'm trying to decide the direction I will go from here. When I see all the beautiful pictures of planted tanks you guys post I really want to get new substrate (what came with it is pink plastic-y looking gravel stuff) and do a planted aquarium, but when I read all the research material on planted aquariums I get a bit overwhelmed.

So here's my question: As a total beginner will plants make the whole process more complicated or less so?