Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

So I'm going to preface this... I'm a total newbie. Well maybe not a total newbie, but my previous experience was with a betta who was not fussy.

I have a fluval chi and I'm doing quite a few plants and have a small school of rasboras plus a few notable cleaners (fancy pregnant shrimp, horned nerite snail, zebra Cory cat). Yes I'm aware the tank is quite full. If I have to reduce the fish I will, but for now this is what I'm working with.

I was given the tank by my good friend, set it up with the Eco complete (which I was told would enable me to skip the cycle process) and I had some plants I moved from an established tank and a cool piece of drift wood too. So I figured I was in pretty good shape for bacteria development. Please correct me if I'm wrong!

Anyway I didn't know about "acclimation" until I did a whole bunch of research about rasboras and how fussy they are while being acclimated...after 3 died :( sad, right? I got replacements and they were acclimated and are doing great.

So basically, I'm looking for better lighting and filtration. My heater is holding the water at a steady 78°.

The Chi is super cute and so charming with its little fountain, but I have a pregnant shrimp and if the fry actually survive the fish, it would be good if they didn't get sucked up the filter too. Not to mention I have my doubts about the filter to begin with.

Also, as everyone knows, the lighting on the Chi is not adequate for anything beyond Java fern. I have baby tears for the fry, Staurogynes repens, Java fern, and Anubius nana. I guess the anubius is growing somewhat, but it has slowed down compared to its growth in the previous tank. I should add that I'm using the seachem flourish excel, their micro mix fert, and prime.

PH kh gh nitrate and nitrite levels are all OK, but my tester from today showed a little tiny hint of ammonia. So: filtration.