Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've recently set up a tank again after about 30 years and I'm having problems.

I started off by buying some zebra danios which were recommended by my aquarium shop

Since having them my one danio is lying on the substrate barely moving, 2 are swimming quite well but near the bottom of the tank and tend to be hanging around by the onevthats not moving and one keeps swimming to the top as if trying to get air.

I have a temperature of 27 degrees C, I have oxygenating plants and an air pump so I don't think kts lack of oxygen or temperature issues

I've also noticed that the one barely moving has a red line by its gills.

Water was tested by the aquarium shop before purchasing fish and all was fine

Any help is appreciated thanks

Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
225 Posts
THE TEMP IS TO HIGH FOR DANIOS! Turn down the temp to 78 at the most I reccomend the temp being only 75-76 your poor fish are boiling and struggling to stay alive in that hot water! If they are still like this when you turn the temp down they probably also have a disease.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Do you have a filter?
It sounds like you also haven't cycled the tank before adding the fish. If you don't know what cycling a fish tank is, you can read about it here: How to cycle a tropical fish tank