Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all

im new to fish keeping and i need some advise, i recently purchased an elite 60 liter tank and i plan for it to be a planted tank with micro gravel substrate, bog wood and a bubble wall and stock it with small shoaling communal fish.

ok so 1st question is i plan to have 2 filters in it 1: a basic sponge filter (air pump) and 2: a smart internal filer that does 600L/H, so is this to much filtration and or will it create to much current in my tank?

2nd question: what are the best/easiest plants to have in it? (i don't really like the plants that need to be weighted/tied down)

3rd: the fish im planing on getting are ether:

Top:
harlequin rasbora OR neon rainbowfish OR (?zebra danio?) x5

Top/Mid:
rummynose tetra OR ember tetra x5

Mid/Bottom:
cherry barb OR any other mid/bottom barbs x5

Bottom:
dainty cory OR pygmy cory x5

ok so that would be 20 small fish, what do u recommend i get or are there better fish ive not listed and are the numbers ok?

Sorry for the long questions but id greatly appreciate any advise u may have for me.

thanks

·
Registered
5,201 Posts
Welcome to the forum

The neon rainbows and danios are way too big and active for such a small tank. For a ~15 gallon tank, I would only go with the dwarf corys, a school of ember tetras and a centerpiece fish, like a dwarf gourami.

On a 60L tank, you should only need one filter. 600 L/h is plenty. Internal filters don't hold too much media, but there will be plants in the tank so the combination ought to be able to handle that bioload just fine.

·
Registered
5,201 Posts
Dwarf gouramis are pretty small. If you want to go smaller there are sparkling gouramis.

I was not able to see your aqadvisor link. I remember when the guy first made that site. It's just a tool - just because it says something is okay doesn't mean that it will be okay. There's more to stocking than algorithms.

Reactions: OmegaKeeper