Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks, it's been awhile since I've been to a forum since I tend to keep to myself most of time so please bear with me. I've been doing aquariums for 19 years now, starting off with a 10 gallon fish tank I bought in a starter kit and March will make it a year since I've upgraded to a 20 gallon tank. From July to last week I've had trouble keeping fish in the aquarium because one day I've just added water into the tank and the fish started to die off. About a month or two later I find out that due to a salmonella scare, the town dumped a bunch of chlorine into the water supply making it lethal for the fish. Now a couple of weeks about I finally found the stuff that would get rid of it. A few days ago, in order to test it in a way, bought a betta from the local walmart and turns out that not only is the tank safe, I have a happy betta.

·
Administrator
9,804 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum :wave:

What was your solution to the chlorine? Assuming you found a good water conditioner that removes it.

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Something called Sodium Thiosolfate, I got it at a college that teaches AquaCulture and one of the teachers gave me a handful of it. Said use one for every ten gallons, so I used two and it did the job. They also said to try stuff called Aqua Safe which is suppose to be just as useful.

·
Administrator
5,465 Posts
Hello! I moved your thread to our "Introduce Yourself" section so you'll get more attention.
Welcome to the forum. We're glad you joined us. There is SO much to learn and we're here to help.
Prime is another excellent water conditioner and can be used at 5x the strength in cases of emergency such as a chlorine dump in your city water. Been there, experienced that myself. It's not fun watching everything die in your tank because of a water change.