Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Recently bought a few Plattys And This One Female seams Kinda Big But Im new To Plattys So I don't know If This Is A Pregnant Platty or not. Here's A Pic but its not all that clear because shes in a breeding net.

http://www.geocities.com/riverviewhiteboy_93/fishtankpage1.html?1169328818639

Theres also a top view pic.
Is That size Normal?
If she is prego when will she pop?
I read about a gravid spoton the side, can sum one show me a picture of that Pleaze?
And Is She Going To Pop At Night ,Morning Or What?
:D Thanks! :D

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
She hasnt eaten since thursday and she is hangin out at the bottom of breeder net acting weird.
Do you think she is going to die or is it O.K. That she hasent eaten?
Or is that a sign of labor or soon coming labor?
I have Lots of ?'s
***I NEED HELP***

P.S. Thank u to everyone who replys to me!

·
Banned
2,012 Posts
not eating and hiding means she is about to give birth, do yes i guess she is pregnant. I must say your tank is terribly over-crowded by the way and platies should be kept on a male female ratio of 1 male and 3 females

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It's not over crowded it's just since i have the newt in there i have to keep the water level low. And also the breeder net on the left has been there since last night and will be there till she gives birth!

Will I be Able to put the fry in a still water tank
(u know a tank without a filter and water flow)
at least until there bigger then everyones elses mouth?
or i can put one of my extra air pumps in there?

Oh and I know When a tank is over crowded im new to plattys not salt fresh or brahish water.

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Also i didnt pick out male and female they were a gift so its not my fault.