Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there everyone, I have been keeping fish for 2 years, and I have been keeping a community aquarium now for 1 year. After the recent addition of a male molly, I started noticing small fish swimming around and now I'm afraid my 20 gallon fish tank is becoming overstocked.

The inhabitants:

Fish:
6 neon tetras(~1 inch each)
2 black/yellow tetras(~1 inch each)
5 other fish(multiple types, forgot names,put while cycling, ~1 inch each)
3 black mollys(~1.5-2 inches each)
1 silver molly(~2 inches)
1 golden algae eater(3 inches)
3 black molly fry(<.5 inches each)

other:
9 freshwater clams(~.5-1 inches each, filter feeders)
4 ghost shrimp(~1 inch each, they clean up leftovers + fishpoop)
2 red-claw crabs(~1 inch each)
2 small amazon frogbits(new additions)

I tried to create a balanced ecosystem in my fishtank, and so I added a variety of creatures. My filter setup has 3 mediums that bacteria(and some fungi I think) have established in(1 foam thing and 2 old carbon filters). I never change them anymore in hope that bacteria takes care of all the work for me. The last medium has little bacteria, is that a good sign that ammonia is under control? Also, how much impact do clams have on water cleanness?

Love the algae eater btw. He's a little aggressive towards fish that get too near(specially mollies), but he doesn't hurt them or eat them. Definitely more interesting than the black ones that chill on the glass.

So, is it overstocked, or when will it? Thanks!

Also, are there any other organisms out there that will help clean my tank? Like sponges or something?

·
Registered
211 Posts
try to figure out the names of the other 5 fish please..

But I would say no you aren't overstocked but you are at the max I would put in a 20g.. Keep up with weekly 30% or so water changes and youll be fine... All my tanks are stocked like yours and I have no issues at all..