Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I’m new to tropical fish and am having some serious problems with my new 20L community tank!! I only purchased the setup three days ago and spent a reasonable amount of money making sure the equipment was good following suggestions from the man in the pet shop. I was very careful to make sure that everything was setup correctly and the fish (variety of tetras, cichilids, gouramis) were introduced slowly to the tank according to the instructions I was given.

The morning after introducing my fish to the tank I woke to find that both my gouramis were dead. The tetras were hardly moving and cichilids were moving very slowly around the tank. Unfortunately all of my tetras were also dead that same evening. Today my cichilids are still alive but they are hardly moving at all. They stay in the corner of the tank and look very sick :cry:

I’m worried that I have introduced a virus or bacteria to the tank when I set it up. Everything else in the tank is fine, pH is around 6.5, temperature is kept consistently above 45 degrees, and I have an airstone to make sure the tank is well oxygenated.

Any advice is very appreciated at this point. This is my first tank and I am very annoyed that I have bacteria/virus problems already :-( I am planning to buy some new fish tomorrow but want to find out how to get rid of the bacteria/virus first!

Thanks!

·
Registered
319 Posts
Hi everyone, I’m new to tropical fish and am having some serious problems with my new 20L community tank!! I only purchased the setup three days ago and spent a reasonable amount of money making sure the equipment was good following suggestions from the man in the pet shop. I was very careful to make sure that everything was setup correctly and the fish (variety of tetras, cichilids, gouramis) were introduced slowly to the tank according to the instructions I was given.