Tropical Fish Keeping banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I have a 36gal tank that was set up last summer and was well cycled, with all fish living very happily. I had to give fish away because they were breeding so much (sign of happiness?). I went away for two weeks in December, and have been fighting an increasingly difficult battle to keep my fish alive since. I'm new to fish keeping (this is my first foray) so would appreciate any help or guidance!

What it used to be:
Water Plant Plant community Green Pet supply

Fish:
  • 7 neon tetras
  • 8 orange laser corys
  • used to have about 20 guppies of various sizes

Tank substrate + plants:
  • substrate is petco white sand
  • 2 pieces of 10inch long driftwood, tannins have all come out now
  • approx. 10 Java ferns (about 5" in height each)
  • 3x 1lb grey stones (sorry, not a geologist) I found while hiking - I boiled these in water before introducing into the tank back last autumn, no issues from these.

Equipment:
  • Heater: 1x adjustable
  • Air pump: 3.5W TopFin airpump going to a hygger circular air pad + an air stone shaped in a bar (it is 8" long but only 3" of it bubbles, prob poor quality stone)
  • Filter: 1x submersed fluval U2, set with venturi above water level to aerate the water

Water conditions:
API test strip readings:
  • nitrite and nitrate at 0ppm (before the death spiral started, this was at 0ppm nitrite, 20ppm nitrate)
  • pH at 6.5
  • KH at 0
  • GH at 0
API ammonia liquid test kit reading
- ammonia at 0ppm - 0.25ppm
Temperature: 75degF, checked using two separate digital thermometers

Food:
  • crushed fish flakes, only as much as fish can eat in 1 minute, once daily every other day
  • in addition, 1 frozen gum drop of bloodworms per week

Usual cleaning cycle:
  • 20% water change, once per week