Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to tropical fish keeping and got my first 400 litre tank late last year. After a fishless cycle I started slowly putting together a happy community. I ended up with 5 x black widow tetras, 6 x neon tetras, 6 x albino corydoras, 6 x glass catfish, 4 male guppies, 2 x dwarf gourami, 2 x sailfin molly female, 2 x balloon molly male, 2 x black molly female. The last additions to the tank approx 3 weeka ago was 3 x swordtail fish. I was advised to get some test strips to test the water weekly and to take a sample into the local pet shop every week so they could check parameters better than what I could at home. I have been doing this since the beginning and have had no problems with my water parameters ( I have an internal and external filter.) Not long after adding the swordtails I noticed their poo wasn't like the other fish and they would have long thin trails of poop hanging out of them for hours. Some of it was brown, some parts white and quite stringy. Quickly I noticed this happening in some of the other fish too namely all of the molly fish. I Google what it could be and constipation kept coming up so I followed what I read I didn't feed the fish for two days then fed them peas for two days it didn't make a difference. The whole time the poo situation was the same. Then I started noticing some of the fish behaving in an odd manner and looking different. My two balloon molly males who are both a beautiful pure white started getting black patches on them, the best way to describe them would be if you imagined someone got a thin black marker and coloured in the end of their tails and started drawing thin black lines like a zebra pattern almost over the once pure white body. My female sailfin molly both ballooned in size so I assumed they were pregnant. By now all the swordfish and mollies are having the same pooping problems with long strings of