Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I have been out of the fish keeping game for about 2 years now. I wasn't able to move my tanks with me when I moved from Florida to Texas, thankfully I am getting tons of tanks for Christmas this year!

I got into fish keeping because I like everything about it, simply put it fascinates me.
I have a bachelors in Marine Sciences from JU in Florida, through college, my focuses were brackish communities and phytoplankton activities. I even still have my microscope from college at home, which almost makes diagnosing sick fish fun. Most of my studies were done along the St. John's river, so I have a special place in my heart for a brackish tank.

I am currently the Lead Pet Care Associate at PetSmart. If you want some top notch bettas, come to my store. Aside from supplier issues, my bettas are pristine! All healthy, eating real diets and NO fin rot. <3 I also LOVE that I get to educate people about how to care for their new pets. To be honest, I have worked with both NOAA and Florida Fish and Wildlife, and I have killed a lot less fish at the pet store. Daily saining trips would mean bring back around 200-500 samples of fish to be examined for research. They are just thrown into plastic bags alive without water and tossed in a cooler. Then frozen as soon as we get back to the lab.

I like weird tanks. I like science experiments. I like to try new things. I am not one for the bleeding hearts; I accept fish death as a part of the process. Though I do try to put my fish's health as a top priority, and never kill a fish intentionally,unless of course it needed to be euthanized humanely. I will fess up to the horrid practice of "flushing" in the past, but have recently learned about the clove oil method. So things will be improved in that department. Yay learning!