Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I am new to all this and need some advise. My wife got me a 10 gallon tank for my birthday at the beginning of August. On 5 August I set it up and conditioned the water. It has a filter, gravel and a plastic plant, a live plant, and decorative castle - all aquarium safe stuff. After a week of cycling, we added 4 female and 2 male guppies. Everybody seemed happy. A week later 17 August, we added two cory catfish, a bronze and an albino. The bronze died within 3 day. Still the albino and the gups were happy. So we replaced the bronze. He is happy.

On 26 August we changed the water. I did up a bucket, one used solely for water changes, conditioned the water, and let it sit for a day before doing the change. For the week after that - everyone happy.

Females gups started to look very pregnant. So on 1 September we added a nursery and isolated 2 of them, the ones that look most ready to go. We made sure to rinse the nursery off and dry it before adding it. Within 3 days both of the females died. By 6 September the remaining females died as did the males. The catfish are still happy.

Had the water tested and store said pH was high. So they sold me some Hagen Nutrifin pH decrease. So here's my question. I am a little confused about the best way to decrease. If I understood correctly, its 1 drop per gallon, so I would do 10 drops. BUT - because I have live fish in there, so as not to stress them I should only do 1 drop per day to bring down slowly. Does this sound right. Of do I have the directions all messed up. So far I have only done 1 drop.

Thanks in advance

Tony

·
Registered
134 Posts