Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All...I am new to Tropical Fish Keeping. I need some help...BAD! I have been trying for years to keep goldfish. I am CRAZY about ranchu, lionhead and orandas. There is something in my well water that is killing my fish. I have a 50 gallon tank in the house that is filled with a combination of Sparkletts and well water from my friends house 20 miles away. It's a pain driving for my weekly water changes to my buddies house for water. I would love to have a pond but I think a tanker of Sparkletts would break the bank.
I am going to begin water testing, to see if we can straighten out our water. I found a testing lab to help me. I am starting my testing with heavy metals (arsenic, Zinc and uranium are in the area) as well as Flouride and Nitrate. Does anyone have any idea what levels of these items are detrimental to my fish? Any ideas what else I should be testing for? Thank you.

·
Registered
2,544 Posts
I don't know for sure but I have to say if it's safe for you to drink it should be safe for the fish.
Do you know the levels yet?

·
Registered
22,557 Posts
How did you deduce the fish were dying from something in the water and not something else?

If it is the well water, getting it analyzed to ascertain just what is in it would be useful.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
All of the results for the standard testing is 0. Nitrites, Ammonia etc. My neighbors who had fish had the same problem and they gave up. I can't imagine what else it would be...open to all ideas.

·
Registered
22,557 Posts
All of the results for the standard testing is 0. Nitrites, Ammonia etc. My neighbors who had fish had the same problem and they gave up. I can't imagine what else it would be...open to all ideas.
Are you on the same well? Or is this municipal water that happens to come from wells? If the latter, the municipality should be able to tell you the water data.

·
Registered