Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not really a beginner in the aquarium world, but I recently moved and ran into a problem with finding a selection of fish that would thrive in the hard water that I have. The liquid tests are showing the hardness to be around 250 area (16-18 drops). The PH has been a steady 7.6 thankfully. I transplanted some live plants from the old set up and have 2 pieces of DW (not sure of the kind). The aquarium is a 29g, which might be hard to have multiple schools.

Any suggestion on what I would be able to keep in such hard water conditions? I know livebearers would do great in those conditions, anyone know about Half beaks and Goodeid? LFS just got a shipment of them in and I have never seen them before.

Thanks.

·
Banned
196 Posts
African riff lake cichlids could be an option and most of the common livebearer do well in harder water and so will Goldfish but tank size limits you here. Almost any fish, with few exceptions, can be acclimated to hard water. Hard water is not a bad thing, it is much easier to maintain a stable environment in an aquarium that has some hardness to the water.

R

·
Registered
645 Posts
you only really need to worry about ph being too high if you are attempting to breed certain species or if there is an especially delicate wild caught fish. a stable ph is more important than a high one.proper acclimation is important. take it slowly,drip acclimation is a good route to take. most of the fish you will find at the lfs are captive bred and will transition easier.you can ask your lfs where they get their stock from.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for all the advice guys. I have read that harder water is easier to have fish in because of the high amount of minerals that are in the water. With softer water fish are not able to get the right amount of nutrients.