Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 20 of 222 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im relatively new to fish keeping and didn't want to join forums because I have nothing to offer.
The reason why i choose to join is because i think my blackmolly has ick due to white spots on/near his fin.

I have an 100 liter freshwater tank with:
9 whiteclouds
5 neon tetra
5 glowlight tetra
1 black molly
4 Dalmatian mollies
3 gold dust mollies
4 swordtails
4 snails.

I do weekly water change. Water parameters are 0 ammonia, 0 nitrates and ph of 5
Water temperature is between 18 and 20 degrees Celsius.

I have photo's of the black molly but dont know how to post it

Thank you in advance and please move post if it's in the wrong place

·
Super Moderator
933 Posts
To post a picture you can go to "Go Advanced" and click the paperclip icon in the tool box area. It will bring a pop-up window where you can browse for your picture and upload it.

First off, your tank is WAY overstocked! According to AqAdvisor.com, your tank is 177% stocked! Also, Tetra's need warmer water around 24-26*C, the white clouds and mollies are fine in cooler waters. I suggest removing the Tetra's since that will be the easiest fix. If you do that, at least your tank will go down to 161% stocked which is better at least but still a lot of fish for that small of a tank.

Likely what happened is your fish is stressed out from too much fish and became sick with Ich. It's pretty common. If you can find it (I got mine from Wal-Mart) Quick Cure is fantastic, Malachite Green is very effective and quick. If not, try pretty much any Ich med from your petstores.

And no worries about supposedly having nothing to offer :) Forums work both ways! We exist to help and be helped so don't fool yourself! These sites are a wealth of information and we are all privy to it whether we lurk, post, or help ^_^ Welcome to the Forum!

·
Registered
679 Posts