Tropical Fish Keeping banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

A few weeks ago I ran across this article basically saying that having tanks/aquariums can have a tremendous well being potential not only mentally but physically too. It's been on my mind for a while to get into fish keeping so I think this was the last signed I needed. So far in my research I've concluded that I have a good environment for tropical fish so now I'm looking for the best tropical fish for total newbies, do you guys have any recommendations?

Please let me know. Thanks!

-Erin

·
Registered
I have two tanks, one is cycling and one is a 5 gal (Soon to be upgraded)
430 Posts
I would recommend a 5+ gallon tank with a single betta fish or maybe 1-2 snails with the betta fish. It's good to start small and they are pretty hardy. Ignore any information that says they only need .5 gallons or whatever because it's false. They are extremely aggressive with most other fish, especially there own kind which is why pet stores have to put them in tiny cups for separation.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Danios are great starter fish. There are a few types and most are pretty bullet proof and great for beginners. Pearl danios and zebra danios are very hardy fish. Many people use them in a new tank to get things started before adding other fish as they are very forgiving of the new tank conditions. Although danios do prefer a slightly cooler temperature to most tropical fish, but they can happily live in mid to late 70s. The good old guppy is a great starter fish too, although inbreeding over the decades has led to a lot of genetically weak specimens becoming available. If going the guppies route, I'd spend a little more to get some really good guppies to give yourself the best chance of success.

Best of luck with it

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·