Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Halo I am new to fish keeping I don't have fish yet , today I bought myself a few things to get started , but not the tank , heater , gravel , decorations or fish yet ,because that would be my late christmas gift .
I am going to get a 100L tank with natural gravel . this is what I have to ask help with : what decorations would be nice and what fish should I place in the tank to have a bright tank with lots of movement and breeding , I am thinking of live bearers and also egg laying fish . and if someone in Bloemfontein could help me with fish at lower prices than the pet shops that would be awesome . And if not what pet shop in Bloemfontein is the best to get my fish from .

·
Registered
9,426 Posts
hello and warm welcome.
live bearers sound like a nice idea,plenty of colour to be had.
decoration comes in whatever your heart desires really,
wood,rock,plants,caves,man made constructions,even your own creations !

·
Registered
679 Posts
I'll make some suggestions and take what you like and trash the rest. First, get a few flat garden stones from a local plant nursery. Use these to make some contrast, rock structures on the bottom. How many and the design is up to you. If you plan to use real or live plants, a few small flower pots on their side make great caves and can be disgusied by plants. I use a lot of drift wood, it is not cheap and likely must be ordered on line.

If you're going to use live plants decide if you want rooted plants, floating or moss. I use floating and moss as they are very easy to keep.