Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to freshwater aquariums. I just added fish to my freshwater planted aquarium and keep seeing lots of conflicting info online about do's and don't when starting a new tank.

Also, I'm pretty sure I got lots of terrible advice about what species to start with at the pet store. Anyway, I have a 30ish gallon freshwater aquarium which has been cycling with no fish (lots of plants, a few accidental snails, and 2 good sized pieces of drift wood) for about 4 or 5 months. I put a capful of Flourish Excel in about two or three times per week.

About four days ago I decided to take the plunge into fish. I asked the store rep what some nice starter fish are, and wound up taking home 4 little tetras, four silver hatchet fish, and one smallish angel fish.

Anyway, since taking these lovely creatures home I've been reading more about caring for them, and especially the angel and tetras don't sound like they're recommended for beginners in a tank which is new to fish. Is there anything I can do to avoid ammonia and PH spikes? Would you recommend testing my water once or twice weekly for this first month? Does any of this sound like I'm just asking for a giant disaster?

Thanks for your time,
Alexis

·
Registered
153 Posts
More testing is always good. But your tank has been cycling for a good long time, so it shouldn't really be spiking, even with the addition of the fish.

You have 9 fish in a ~30 gal tank, is it's about 1/3 full in terms of how many fish to put in.