Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been wanting to get a few live plants for my 20g tank. Its fully cycled and is currently stocked as follows:
1 gourami
3 neon tetras
3 guppies
6 Panda corys, a platy and a few more neon tetras on the way

I am a beginner to planted aquariums so i was hoping to start off with two or so small plants... any recomendations?

As far as lighting do i need anything specific? I get really confused when it comes to the lighting. I bought my tank used so i dont even know whats in it currently :oops:

How about substrate? I have about 1 centimeter diameter gravel right now. Its roughly 2 inches thick. Will i need new substrate? I hope i dont :-?

What will i need for chemicals? I have flourish excel right now, what else do i need?

Like i said, i dont know much at all but those are my main concerns. The guy who owned this tank before seemed to have a planted aquarium so i didnt think i would need to change my substrate. Thats my main worry :/ Any help would be greatly appretiated! Sorry for all the questions, just cant seem to find what i need by research, so many mixed emotions DX Thanks in advance for any advice and help.

·
Registered
398 Posts
There are few plants species that don't need to be rooted in a substrate. Just tie them to some wood, rock or ornament until they attach themselves (for a month or two). Those are Anubias sp., Java Fern, any of the mosses and Bolbitus sp (another fern). They are also low light plants and can tolerate some water current. No fertilizers required since they are all slow growing plants, meaning that you can't expect them to "filtrate" your water.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do you know anything about lights by any chance? What about moss balls? Iv been reading that they dont need to be rooted?

·
Registered
398 Posts