Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone! Probably nobody remembers me anymore...

I kind of abandoned the hobby when I started studying, so I haven't had an aquarium for years. But I really miss having fish, even if I don't miss the maintenance, lol. Fishkeeping is good for the soul.

So naturally, I've started dreaming about my next fish tank (which probably won't happen until I move out, because I wouldn't want to be moving house with an aquarium...) Now that I have a proper income I can actually afford to do it properly - buying ammonia testing kits and so on.

I'd like some opinions on my proposed stocking list (this is for my 15 gallon tank, but I might get a new one eventually).

2 Sterba's Corys
1 female betta
1 gold gourami
1 angelfish

I've kept all of those fish before under less than ideal conditions, except for Sterbas (I've had other cory species though). I chose Sterbas here because I want to do a high-temperature tank for the benefit of the anabantids, and Sterbas are the only cory I know of that likes warmer water. Also Sterbas are my favorite cory species and I've always wanted some.

I'm mostly concerned about the anabantids fighting, and whether the tank is too small for the gourami and/or the angelfish. I have kept gouramis and angelfish in much smaller tanks but they died young (not from illness, so probably due to lack of space.)

I would add the betta first and the corys last, based on my experience of their hardiness.

I've also been thinking about a pair of Papilichromis ramirezi but I've read they like to be housed with tetras to feel safe, and I really don't want to do tetras again...