Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I have a 29 gallon freshwater planted tank and am about to start a 55 gallon reef tank. I am new to salt water and have a few questions about stocking this tank. I have a list of fish I like and think are a good size for the tank. Obviously I would not add all these fish I just want to know out of my list what fish are most compatible together and are best for this size and type of tank. The fish I'm interested in are....
Clown fish
Firefish
Yellow Watchman Gobby
Maybe some sort of Blenny
coral Beauty Angel
Flame Angel
green chromis
Yellowtail Damselfish
Spotted Mandrin
royal gramma
six line wrasse
longnose hawkfish

If there are any other fish suggestions I would love to hear them. Also I need suggestions on corals and Invertebrates for beginners. I like to plan stuff out and feel like I could get better answers here than the fish stores may give me! Thanks! :-D

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
For the stocking-
Clownfish, a pair of percs would be nice. Not maroons. To big.
Firefish, a pair is really nice. I have a pair on my 110 reef
YWG, awesome fish. I have one as well. Get a pistol shrimp to go with him.
Blennies are always an awesome choice
Coral beauty and flame, fight together. And are a risk in a reef
Green chromis, actually not a schooling fish. They pick each other off. So if you get them. Than only one.
Blue yellowtail damsels, the most peaceful damsel IME. One would be great.
Spotted mandrin, hard to feed. Skip for now.
Gramas, cool little fish. You could do one.
Six line, EVIL little things. I had one kill my gramma. Not a very nice fish. Definitely skip.
Longnose hawk, never had one. But may not go to well with the firefish.

Inverts-
Cleaner shrimp
Peppermint shrimp
Coral banded CAN be a threat to sleeping fish

Easy corals,
Mushrooms
Tree corals (not the green)
Pallys
toadstools
Leathers