Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I have a betta in a 2.5 gallon tank but he will be upgraded to a 10 gallon tank. So my question is, can I keep red cherry shrimp in a 2.5 gallon tank with lots of moss and other plants?

·
Registered
31 Posts
Yes definately. They have a very small bio load. Feeding them is what contaminates the water. Maybe put a guppy or two to help keep it clean and cycled. Just a thought.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok, thanks. Do they need a filter? I will be doing a dirted tank because I have had better luck with the dirted tanks. Will this work? And I do have a heater and the temp stays at 75-78.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Yes I would have a filter. Alot of people use sponge in their filters so they wont suck up the baby shrimp when they breed. I am not an expert on filters. Maybe some one else can help to. Or you can post a new question. I wish you lots of luck. I am trying to breed shrimp right now. And am waiting on a platy to give birth.

I am not sure what you mean by dirted. Do you have plants?

·
Registered
163 Posts
i would say do the same thing with the tank now as you did with the betta to keep the water clean. if you have a hob or internal filter but some type of mesh over the intake so they dont get sucked up (panty hose works great and are cheap just cut to size) its not a necessity to filter the water especially if its heavily planted bc the plants filter the water enough for shrimp and use the nasty stuff to grow :)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7