Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have no previous experience with fish. I do however have a turtle in a 25 gallon tank. I am setting this up as my turtle ete fish before. I have read a lot of info and cycling,stocking info. I set my tank up on Monday (30 Dec) and added bio start , turtle water and fish food . I did some water changes and added sand .I have a heater and a filter that has a sponge on the end . it does 400 litres an hour. No room for ceramic rings or anything but I guess the sponge will do that . I have a diy trickle filter in my turtle tank canopy .

The tank is 2 feet by 1 foot by 1 foot . I want to add java fern and anibus . I want to add something like ,

6 pigmy Corys
6 neons ( or other fish that are easy to get and look good)
Maby snail if I can find one
And shrinmp if I can find some
3 platies \ guppies

Thanks in advance,
P.S where I live only common fish are available

·
Administrator
5,465 Posts
Just be very aware that turtles hunt all the time!!! I don't think that the Corys or shrimp will be safe.... especially since they are not fast moving.

I really don't advise this, and I hate to be a downer!! Will you be separating turtle and fish from each other or all in one tank swimming freely together? How big is the turtle? If it is a wee hatchling things may be ok for a little while but it is only a matter of time. Not to mention the stress on the fish from having a predator in the tank with them.

So sorry to have to give this kind of advice.

Reactions: Chesh and willow

·
Registered
9,426 Posts
i would have said the same thing,so two meanie greenies;-)

Reactions: Chesh

·
Administrator
5,465 Posts
Oh thank goodness. I missed something obviously in your first post. I'm sorry!!
ok starting over!!!