Tropical Fish Keeping banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum because I really was getting frustrated looking around online for some tank stocking options and just would like a nice forum where I can talk to people with some experience with what I'm trying to do. So decided to give this a try :)

I'm not really new to the hobby, but I am new to keeping a big tropical tank. Up till now I have been keeping fancy goldfish for about 15 years, and I have had a 10g planted tank with a betta for about 2 years and recently its just temporarily housing some cories.

So I have a 120 gallon tank, 48x24x24, almost finished fishless cycling. Filtration is a sump with built in overflow. Lighting: Coralife 48" 2x 28W T5 10K bulbs. Pool filter sand. It currently has a ton of Anubias and Java Fern.

So onto my problem. I have been going around for days with possible tank stocking combinations. I was all set to have a peaceful community tank housing cories, kuhli loaches, fork-tailed rainbow fish and some sort of catfish, maybe pictus or a feather fin. Until I was visiting a new awesome LFS when I saw some Rope Fish. I really really liked them and started doing a ton of research to figure out if I could create a new community tank around them.

There seems to be a ton of contradicting info on Rope Fish, but what I found out so far is:
1. They like groups. I was thinking 5-6
2. Smaller fish debatable with whether or not they will be eaten
3. They are good at getting out
4. They can be picked on by aggressive fish
5. Some people find them hard to feed/ compete for food.

As to my preferences:
I really like cat fish
I love loaches
I love anything eel-like. eg: Rope Fish, Dojo Loach, Eels
If possible I would like at least one group of schooling fish

One of my stocking possibilities were:
5 x Ropefish
6x Pictus catfish
15 x Tiger Barb
1 x Striped Raphael Catfish or Featherfin
5 x Panda Cory
5 x Julii Cory