Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am new to the whole fish thing but I think it's really neat! Anyways I wanna do this right and I researched a little so I know you have to cycle it and stuff but besides that what kind of fish could I get? I can go buy a heater and everything but how many fish and what kinds would you guys reccomend? I don't want to mess this up so all advice is appreciated!
Thanks!

·
Registered
679 Posts
Let me start by saying you are doing it correctly and caution saves a lot of trouble and money in the end.

There are any number of fish that can go in a 10gal. Let me start what Can't go in the tank: goldfish, cichlids, african cichlids, plecos, most types of fish marked as sharks-they are not really sharks-non-dwarf gouramis, larger tetras and barbs , mollys or swordtails or exotics like knife fish.

What can go in a 10gal: Guppys, platys, Endlers, small tetras like neons or lemons, small rasboras like harlaquins, small barbs like cherry or gold barbs, Pigmy or 1 dwarf gourami (Dwarf gourami will really limit what else you can have) bettas, shrimp, cory cats or maybe a dwarf crayfish if you don't have corys or loaches.

Best bet, look at the pet store or go to aquabid and look at different fish. Put a list together of things you're interested in or like and then ask people here to help you build a stock list. We can help with the aquascaping if need be. Please keep in mind, my list of Dos and Don'ts is not all inclusive. I just tried to stick with the pet store stuff.

·
Registered
78 Posts
There are a number of combinations, so it depends on what you are looking for.

The first thing that I would do, is buy a water testing kit (if you don't have one already) and check your tap water. I am on well water, which runs through a culligan water softner/filtration system - put my pH levels are higher than typical water (so, fishies who require lower pH don't fare well in my tank).