Tropical Fish Keeping banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i'm a fish keeping newbie, and I just got a 10 and 20 gallon aquarium. The 10 is 10.5 x 20.25 x 15 in (w x l x h). The 20 is about 14 x 26 x 19 in. I purchased the 10 and then my uncle gave me a 20. I think I'll put pool filter sand and plants when I cycle them, but I don't really have any ideas for stocking. I kinda want a centerpiece fish and schooling fish for them. I think I want pygmy cories and shrimp in my 20 and shrimp in my 10, will that work? I would greatly appreciate any ideas!

·
Registered
645 Posts
Hello! Since you are new to fish keeping I recommend that you get fish that work with your water conditions. I think that a good start would be to get a decent liquid test kit. You will want to know your ph and also kh and gh values. Also make sure that your home does not have copper pipes. It is easy for shrimp to overdose with copper. They can only handle a miniscule amount. They do need some copper to live, but again just the tiniest amount that occurs either naturally or is in small amounts in some foods. Have you familiarized yourself with the nitrogen cycle yet? There are stickies posted on this forum that will tell you all about it. What are you planning to use for a filter, light etc? I do like the thought of a bunch of little corys. I used to have a bunch. This was one of my favorite tanks. Such cool little fish.

·
Registered
645 Posts
Just reread your post. You obviously know what cycling is. I think you should start off with a bunch of plants during cycling. Corys love lots of plants.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Thanks! I know some about the cycling process because I had a betta in a 10 gallon like 6 years ago and I learned about cycling, but that was the only fish I ever had. I saw the pygmy cories at a fish store and I thought they were cool, so I wanted them in my tank.

·
Registered
7 Posts