Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (https://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/forum.php)
-   Livebearers (https://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Breeding Mollies (https://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/breeding-mollies-611498/)

mj29nd 10-01-2015 07:11 AM

Breeding Mollies

Hi. I am relatively new to this aquarium world and is interested in breeding mollies. I have a big size female black molly and a medium size male gold molly. I have read about 2 or 3 females to 1 male ratio and added 1 small size dalmation female molly. But it was fin nipped and harrassed by the big black female molly and died. Currently the gold male constantly chases around the black female and once while changing water I kept them in a small bucket and harrassed by the male the female jumped out. Luckily I was there and gently put her back. I have provided a hiding place but have not separated them yet. I want to add another female molly but cannot decide. Should I get another big black female molly or a medium gold female molly?? If I get a big black female will the big black females kill my medium gold male?

KathyR 10-02-2015 06:59 AM

The odds of them killing each other is very slim. I would just get more fish to stabilize the aggression more. Also, if you heavily decorate the tank it will help aggression because fish can hide better. Here is a good site MollyFish.com - Caring for Molly "Mollies" Fish with Community you can also mix guppies and other live bearers with mollies too

mj29nd 10-02-2015 07:25 AM

But my big molly female killed the small female. That is why I was thinking if two big females will kill my medium male molly. Or can I get a medium female molly or will it also be killed by the big female?

Warhawk 10-05-2015 09:44 AM