Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (https://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/forum.php)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (https://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   First try failed, time to start over.. Need Help! (https://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/first-try-failed-time-start-over-515570/)

ThaMilkshakeMAN 02-04-2015 11:32 AM

First try failed, time to start over.. Need Help!

Hi everybody,

Well I posted on here a few weeks ago, I'm new to fish keeping, bought my first tank and fish, then was forced into doing a fish-in cycle, as I had no idea about the nitrogen cycle beforehand and rushed in.
Anyways, for weeks my Ammonia readings were just rising and rising, and no nitrite or nitrate readings ever showed. Despite doing a 75%+ waterchange 2 days in a row, using the bacteria in a bottle stuff(Top Fin), the ammonia level still just rose with no other readings ever showing. So finally last night, I decided to start over. I took all of my little fishies out, took the plants out, and began draining the water. When i got down to the gravel, I decided to push all of the gravel to one side so that i can get all the water beneath the gravel. Well, when doing that, I found a LOT of muck and debris down there! I do not have a gravel vac, so I'm guessing that was a major issue with why my ammonia was rising so fast. So I decided to go out and get an under-gravel filter.

Just a little back ground on the tank -