need second opinion on costia??? - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-08-2009, 02:51 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
darni's Avatar
 
Exclamation need second opinion on costia???

hey guys,my platy has started to behave wierd,she had one clamped fin and what i thought was a missing scale as there was a little white patch on her back...i thought it was damage from the male who is being quite agressive and had to be seperated but today the second fin is calmped,she has lost appetite and the are more milky patches....its not white spot as i have treated that b4,after some research it sounds like costia?? i am about to do a water change and then thought i would treat with formalin? is this right??

'blue'-blue/purple male betta vt
'aries' red male betta vt
'rags' blue/green/black male vt
'ember' red female betta
'lilly' blu/lilac/pink female betta
'beenie' cream/red female betta


'dragon' red male(rip)
darni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-08-2009, 12:06 PM
Member
 
Twistersmom's Avatar
 
I am trying to read up on costia. Is the platy flashing?

The thing I hate about fish disease, so many diseases have the same symptoms.
Also read up on columnaris, it also starts out with white patchy areas.
Twistersmom is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-08-2009, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
darni's Avatar
 
i know!!!!! its a nightmare,ive been lucky and only had a couple of outbreaks of ick, no flashing just lethargic and gone off the food

'blue'-blue/purple male betta vt
'aries' red male betta vt
'rags' blue/green/black male vt
'ember' red female betta
'lilly' blu/lilac/pink female betta
'beenie' cream/red female betta


'dragon' red male(rip)
darni is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-08-2009, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Twistersmom's Avatar
 
I have no experience with costia, what I read, sounds like it is a parasite and the fish will scratch as though they have ick.
I am afraid to recommend any meds, not knowing for sure. Can you post a picture of the fish?
How are the fins on the fish looking? Do you see anything that looks like fin rot?
Twistersmom is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-08-2009, 09:07 PM
Member
 
Twistersmom's Avatar
 
I was just now looking through the fish disease section.http://www.fishforum.com/tropical-fi...diseases-8179/
Costia is on page one, columnaris on page two, both have Acriflavine listed as a treatment.
Twistersmom is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-11-2009, 02:49 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
darni's Avatar
 
hiya thanks for that,unfortunatly the fish died that night,i treated my tanks with formalin to be on the safe side then took photos into my pet shop and it was costia,the formalin will catch any other fish that might have caught it and i will do two water changes a week for the next couple of weeks.
i usualy use formalin at the 1st sighns of any sickness (ie ick,flashing ect) and its has stopped any diseases taking hold too badly but i wasnt observant enough this time :( shame as it was my best livebearer

'blue'-blue/purple male betta vt
'aries' red male betta vt
'rags' blue/green/black male vt
'ember' red female betta
'lilly' blu/lilac/pink female betta
'beenie' cream/red female betta


'dragon' red male(rip)
darni is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-11-2009, 02:51 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
darni's Avatar
 
i havent heard of acriflavin? where are you from? im in nz it might be different here?

'blue'-blue/purple male betta vt
'aries' red male betta vt
'rags' blue/green/black male vt
'ember' red female betta
'lilly' blu/lilac/pink female betta
'beenie' cream/red female betta


'dragon' red male(rip)
darni is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-11-2009, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Twistersmom's Avatar
 
Sorry to here the fish did not make it.
I am in the US.
Twistersmom is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-11-2009, 04:27 AM
Member
 
Lupin's Avatar
 
Acriflavine is antibiotics. Your best bet at obtaining it is when it makes a portion of the ingredients of well known treatments such as Sera Baktopur.

Sent from my desktop or phone or whatever else I am holding on to

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=48&dateline=125741997  2
I'm ready for the pressure.
The drama and the pleasure!
If there is one thing I want to see here, it's HUMOR.
I believe I can fly!
I believe I can touch the sky!
I think about it every night and day!
I stand in awe of my body.
Lupin is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-11-2009, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
darni's Avatar
 
ok cool

'blue'-blue/purple male betta vt
'aries' red male betta vt
'rags' blue/green/black male vt
'ember' red female betta
'lilly' blu/lilac/pink female betta
'beenie' cream/red female betta


'dragon' red male(rip)
darni is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would like an opinion from anyone and everyone. Kelso Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 11 12-27-2009 09:02 AM
opinion plz southamericancichlidguy23 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 4 11-14-2009 10:39 PM
Your opinion? el Mattador Freshwater Journals 3 02-01-2009 06:44 PM
Need your opinion! andulrich4all Saltwater Fish 9 11-22-2008 12:19 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome