LIGHTING OPINION - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-10-2007, 12:54 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
LIGHTING OPINION

I've been wanting to upgrade my lighting and wanted some feed back. Currently I have a 48" 55 gallon tank with regular fluorescent fixture. I want to build a DIY hood. I am wondering if 2 175w HL MH Retrofit with 2 10k bulbs would be sufficient. Then i would add two actinic bulbs to my current fluorescent fixture.
raymi17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-10-2007, 12:59 PM
Member
 
That would be great! Alot of people do that on 55's. But might i make a sugjestion? Instead of 175's get the 150's,or the 250. the 175 is going out of style and they might stop making the bulbs. I heard crmike talking about it once. and Have you checked out hellolights.com yet? awsome prices.
trreherd is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-10-2007, 01:06 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Yes i have checked hello lights thats were i'm buying my ballast, and were can i read that thread about the 175's going out of style,because that would be pretty annoying no being able to buy bulbs for it.
raymi17 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-10-2007, 01:59 PM
Member
 
umm mike will prolly be on later today to explain.
trreherd is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-10-2007, 09:58 PM
It's been a rumor for some time now. Sanjay yoshi, the leading hobbyist know it all about MH lighting, has been stepping up that talk in the last couple of months. the bulbs will still be produced, it's just that aquarium specific ones are being phased out. Do a search for him online, he is also featured in several magazines.
caferacermike is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does anyone have this or have an opinion about it? stephanieleah Freshwater Aquarium Equipment 6 02-03-2010 11:06 PM
Would like an opinion from anyone and everyone. Kelso Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 11 12-27-2009 10:02 AM
T5 Lighting Opinion Wanted. andulrich4all Beginner Saltwater Aquariums 3 02-20-2009 12:04 AM
Your opinion? el Mattador Freshwater Journals 3 02-01-2009 07:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome