Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   feeding schedule (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/feeding-schedule-99863/)

tdOtjunior 04-27-2012 06:20 PM

feeding schedule

How many times a day do you feed your fish? What and when is it considered overfeeding

InsaneIchthyology 04-27-2012 08:31 PM

I feed mine once a day, in the morning and I've been doing that for 10 years and everything seems fine.

Tazman 04-27-2012 08:38 PM

My cichlids, twice a day and some days not at all...never had "Malawi Bloat" and all my fish are happy.

tdOtjunior 04-27-2012 08:41 PM

Thanks for the quick reply. Some say once a day, others twice, also only 5 days a week at once a day. Just curious to know..was reading a post on overfeeding.

Byron 04-28-2012 11:50 AM

Fry need frequent feedings to develop properly, but most healthy mature fish need no more than once a day, and minimal at that, and missing days will do no harm; water change day is a good one to miss, as fish should never be fed prior to a water change or any similar disturbance.

If they are healthy, fish can go over a week without food; this is safest if you go away and can't find a knowledgeable fish person to feed.

Generally speaking, fish should always appear hungry; a hungry fish is a healthy fish.:fish:

Byron.

LasColinasCichlids 04-30-2012 07:49 PM

For my tanks, each has a different feeding schedule.

My 29g gets fed once a day, and I usually skip a feeding once or twice a week. They are all full grown. I tend to feed in the evening.