Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Newbie enthusiast (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/newbie-enthusiast-99483/)

BronwenL 04-22-2012 07:52 PM

Newbie enthusiast

Hi all, I'm pretty new to the aquarium hobby (4 months or so) and I'm learning a lot. Unfortunately much of it the hard way. I joined the forum to seek advice after a large, sudden die-off. I think a parasite or disease came into my tank with a group of galaxy rasboras. They have all died except one, and taken about 50% of my other fish with them including all but one of my dwarf emerald rasboras. :-( I've been treating with Melafix and Pimafix, then went to Herbal Microbe-lift for 10 days. Now I have Bifuran+ recommended by my LFS as a food additive. Except that there are no instructions on adding it to food. Pointers greatly appreciated! Thanks for having me.

BronwenL 04-22-2012 09:40 PM

Update: I've figured out what is killing my fish. Camallanus worms. So nasty!!! Dont know what to do for this. Yuck!

SeaHorse 04-22-2012 09:54 PM

Welcome Bronwen! Love the name!
Well I can tell you, likely 80 percent of the members in here have learned the hard way just like you! I'm sorry you also had this experience!!
But we're glad you found us!
I don't have any experience in the meds.... but I'm thinking it should be a very good long time before you add another fish... a month if you can hold off. Let all the meds wear off, or eventually use some carbon in your filter for a few days to pull the old meds out. Your tank has been thru a lot and needs to settle... mature.... chillax!
At this point who/what is left in there? How big is the tank? Do you know all your numbers? Am, NI, NA, PH etc? If you don't know these numbers, get yourself a liquid API test kit. (more reliable than strips)