Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Transporting a 10 gal tank. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/transporting-10-gal-tank-9916/)

NoodleFish 12-10-2007 09:44 PM

Transporting a 10 gal tank.

Well, I'm a college student who owns a ten gallon tank with three loverly fishies in it + a cool snail.

Anyway, I know for a fact that there's no way I can lift this thing, and I would obviously need some help when carrying it to a car. But with Winter intercession coming up soon, I'm heading home. How exactly should I go about taking my tank from my dorm room to my house which is about an hour and a half away?

willow 12-11-2007 02:27 AM

hello
i would put the fish in bags(you can get them from the LFS)
with tank water,wrapp the fish bags in news paper
it helps to keep the warmth in.remove the rest and keep it if you can.
put the gravel/sand in a container with a lid to keep it moist,
there will be benifical bacteria in htere,bag up your plants.
bag up the filter too.
when you get to your location set the tank up straight away,
and keep a check on your water for amonia,nitrItes,nitrAtes.
good luck,it should run smoothly. :)

Little-Fizz 12-11-2007 05:19 AM

Re: Transporting a 10 gal tank.

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoodleFish
Well, I'm a college student who owns a ten gallon tank with three loverly fishies in it + a cool snail.

Anyway, I know for a fact that there's no way I can lift this thing, and I would obviously need some help when carrying it to a car. But with Winter intercession coming up soon, I'm heading home. How exactly should I go about taking my tank from my dorm room to my house which is about an hour and a half away?