Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Does this platy look pregnant? (pictures) (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/does-platy-look-pregnant-pictures-96608/)

Frostycat2012 03-20-2012 05:44 PM

Does this platy look pregnant? (pictures)

4 Attachment(s)
I just bought 2 Mickey Mouse Platy since I already have one other. The orange/white-ish one is Big Mama and I am pretty sure she's pregnant and wanted a second opinion since I'm new to fish. Also I bought a breeding net for when she starts to give birth, I am not putting her in it until she is literally having the babies and taking her out after she's done. If she does look pregnant how far along does she look? She's been staying low in the tank by the plants lately. Thanks!

dfish23 03-21-2012 12:52 AM

Shes defiantly pregnant and what Ive seen from my platies is their stomachs go from a round shape to a somewhat squared shape when they are close to giving birth kinda like this http://www.wetwebmedia.com/Cyprinido...th%20platy.JPG

1077 03-21-2012 01:03 AM

If the fish has been exposed to males, then they are inherently pregnant .
Would NOT wait until fish was further along to move her, for moving fishes which are close to birthing to breeder net,box,tank,will often times result in aborted births ,or still born/dead fish.

Frostycat2012 03-21-2012 12:08 PM

Update: She' s definitely pregnant, I can see the babies eyes now

Last night I looked at her and can now se the babies eyes in hr belly towards the back. How long from when you can see the eyes is she close to giving birth?
And also so if I should put her in her breeding net should I do that now or is that just going to stress her out and cause her to abort or absorb the babies?

Termato 03-21-2012 12:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frostycat2012 (Post 1020342)