Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   How tricky is a 5 gallon tank? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/how-tricky-5-gallon-tank-95212/)

Chesh 03-04-2012 09:53 PM

How tricky is a 5 gallon tank?

I'm thinking of getting a small tank for my African Dwarf Frog (and possibly a betta buddy), but am not having very good luck finding anything bigger than a 5 gallon tank to fit in the space I have available (and in my budget). I'm new to the underwater world, and am reading that it's much harder to keep the water cycled/stable in a smaller-sized tank.

How tricky IS a 5 gallon tank? I'll do my water changes like a good little fish momma, but are there rules to maintaining a cycle in a tank this small? Or... is there a cycle to BE maintained, or does it get wiped out with every cleaning. It'll have a filter, so I imagine there will be some sort of cycling going on!

Any information will be used and appreciated! Thank you!

dmuddle 03-04-2012 10:06 PM

5 gallons arent hard although Im not sure about having a frog considering I fear them. But I have had a betta and getting another one and they love the room. hope this helps.

ladayen 03-04-2012 10:14 PM

Theres always a cycle to complete no matter the size tank.

African dwarf Frog need to be in groups, 6+ preferably 3 at least. With just one you will never see it, to the point it can starve itself because it will not even come out for food. If you do choose to get a betta as well make sure that food is getting to the bottom and staying there. Frogs are nocturnal, nearly blind and rely on smell to find food so it can take a bit for them to get it. Dont want the betta to eat everything before the frogs can touch it and dont want the betta to eat too much and get bloat.