Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Angelfish Advice (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/angelfish-advice-94586/)

ashleymd85 02-27-2012 04:43 PM

Angelfish Advice

I am new to angelfish, and would rather get real peopleís advice then from a fact sheet from online that hasnít been updated in years.

I have a 75-gallon tank arriving this weekend. I will be setting it up and letting it run a couple weeks before getting angelfish.

Any recommendations as to what to do special with angelfish before getting them in the tank (Besides checking water levels obviously)?
Anything recommendations as to anything else?
Would gravel or sand be better?

I have never had them, always wanted them, and finally bought a house where I can set up a large tank without having to move it.

Byron 02-27-2012 04:52 PM

Welcome to Tropical Fish Keeping forum. Nice to have you with us.:-D

One feature we have is the fish and plant profile section, under the second tab from the left in the blue bar across the top of the page. Many species are included, and if the common or scientific name is used in a post exactly as in the profile, it will shade and you can click it to see the profile.

Our profiles are kept up to date (most of them by me) so the information will be current. For the angelfish the common scalare is under Pterophyllum scalare and you will find lots of info. Note the suggestions on numbers and getting them all together to avoid trouble.