Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Tiger Lotus - Red (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/tiger-lotus-red-94547/)

Welsh 02-27-2012 09:47 AM

Tiger Lotus - Red
 
Well, its been a while since I was on here last, but I bought a tiger lotus bulb Christmas time and its been growing like crazy, however, I expected the leaves to be thick and nearer the ground... like this http://www.aquariumplantsandsupplies...ges/7bee_1.jpg I have been cutting the longer leaves down but the plant refuses to stay near the gravel. I dose with flourish comprehensive and its under 7wpg. Is there something I can do, to make the leaves appear thick, instead of frail and limp

Thanks :)

Geomancer 02-27-2012 09:56 AM

I have the opposite problem, hehe. I'm actually want mine to have some pads on the surface for shade. I bought mine as an already growing plant, so no bulb. In the process it basically lost all but a single leaf, but that one has continued to grow up towards the top. It hasn't quite made it, but is close.

All the new ones are small and close to the base. Here is a picture after 19 days in my tank:
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...g_02202012.jpg

I just have a basic 18" T8 bulb, 8000K. I use Flourish once a week.

This is what it looked like when I bought it.
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...tigerlotus.jpg

Inga 02-27-2012 10:02 AM


Welsh 02-27-2012 10:03 AM

I ordered my bulb off amazon and it came with the plant as well. I find that plant just puts out leaves but they stay to the gravel, the plant on the bulb grows like crazy, and I think its due to the plant getting all its nutrients from the bulb. Have you tried root tabs?

Geomancer 02-27-2012 10:08 AM

I haven't given it a root tab directly, however the sword to the right of it does have one. I don't really remember where I put it... just that in April I need to replace it8-)

Welsh 02-27-2012 10:11 AM

Haha, I've never tried root tabs but I've been looking around for them today.Have you had trouble with your nitrate levels, since having this plant?

Geomancer 02-27-2012 10:16 AM

Nope, it's a 20g tall. I change 4g/week. Ammonia and Nitrite are 0, and Nitrate always reads at 5 ppm (the lowest on API Liquid Test).

Welsh 02-27-2012 10:19 AM

I never had trouble with my nitrates before but since using this plant they have rocketed to around 20ppm, in both my tanks. You know you have that leaf near the surface, have you found a new bulb around your plant? I heard when the plant sends runners to the surface, it produces a new bulb. Not sure how true this is though lol.

Geomancer 02-27-2012 11:00 AM

Not that I'm aware of, I haven't dug around it to see. I generally don't touch the substrate at all during water changes, I just siphon off the top.

Inga 02-27-2012 11:03 AM

I wonder why having this plant would change your Nitrate level? That is interesting. Do you have a lot of other plants in this tank?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2