Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   new tank set-up 20g long planted (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-tank-set-up-20g-long-94316/)

GuppyGrabber 02-24-2012 09:10 PM

new tank set-up 20g long planted

first, id like to say THANKS to whoever began this awsome site. second, thanks to those many members who maintain its awesomeness! ive learned a lot about fishkeeping just by reading the threads and comments of the more experienced members and my betta loves you all for it :-)

now onto my new tank: it will be a 20g long. im hoping to plant ~2/3 with easy to maintain(as im still a noob) species.

so my equipment so far is:

- aquaclear20 power filter
- an aqueon 50watt heater
- an aqueon full hood with a 24" 17watt 8000k full spectrum bulb(though i plan to replace the bulb with one more "plant friendly"
- for substate i was looking into the "fluval" substrate for planted aquariums, mainly because its the only one at my LFS that has the look im going for (the non coloured gravel look)

my tap water:

ammonia:0
nitrite:0
nitrate:0
PH:7.6

for stocking i was thinking:

- 1 bristlenose pleco
- 8 cardinal tetra
- 2 pepper corydoras
- 2 panda corydoras (one of which i already have in my 5gallon betta tank who needs a new home ASAP)
- 6 platys
- 1 sailfin molly or 2 dwarf gouramis

for plants, i wanted all easy to grow, hence i was thinking:

- anubias (one in my 5g atm)
- java moss
- water sprie
- moneywort (in my 5g atm)
- duckweed - im hoping to devise a way to keep it contained to 1/3 of the tank??? ( some in my 5g atm)

so, on to the questions: