Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Cycling questions/troubles. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/cycling-questions-troubles-94062/)

Jason4390 02-22-2012 03:03 AM

Cycling questions/troubles.

Ok, I'm new to the hobby and a bit confused on my readings for my currently cycling tank. I have a 75g long brackish tank setup. SG at 1.010, temp at about 84, and ph is 8. It was seeded with one bag of live sand and a fairly good size ornament from a full marine tank. I have used Stability and some other product (that said it promotes bacteria growth) on initial setup. I'm using clear ammonia for a fishless cycle and have been having to add rather large amounts to get my ammonia readings (15-20ml of pure ammonia) which have been 2-3 ppm. It has been only 3-4 days since I've started my cycling journey and even with the massive amounts of ammonia (much more that the 5 drops per 10 gallons I've read) and I'm already getting nitrAte readings? I tested for nitrite and none was present. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong/right or where I'm at in the cycling process?

Reefing Madness 02-22-2012 08:35 AM

Sit tight, this does not happen over night. You've got the ammonia in the tank, now let nature run out its course.
Tips for Cycling Your New Aquarium - The First Tank Guide - Getting Your Fish Tank Up and Running with Minimal Headaches

Tazman 02-22-2012 08:40 AM

I would highly recommend dosing the ammonia up to 5ppm. With this method once the cycle is complete you can FULLY stock the tank straight away as the bacteria are in massive quantities.

I did that with my 75g freshwater tank and have zero ammonia / nitrite readings constantly and it is fully stocked.

Jason4390 02-22-2012 11:55 AM