Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Need advice on FX5 and setting up my 125g (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/need-advice-fx5-setting-up-my-94047/)

Fishoutofwater 02-21-2012 10:37 PM

Need advice on FX5 and setting up my 125g

Greetings. I am fairly new to this hobby/passion, but have always wanted to get in to this so here I am. Anywho, My wife and I have just finished cycling our 29g tank successfully(boy that Ammonia spike lasted forever.)

My questions are about setting up our 125g:

We are going to do the live plant, real rock, and driftwood route. And plan on a community tank eventually fully stocked.

What would be the best filter for this setup? I've heard that with live plants, they actually help the filtration process and also don't like a whole lot of flow rate. Is this true? We have been looking at the FLuval fx5 and I am wondering with the flow rate of 526gph with full media, will that be too strong for the live plants and smaller fish such as Cardinals. Also will this particular filter be able to handle the bio load of a stocked tank of this size? I read that the Eheim Pro has better bio filter capacity but they're just so expensive.

Also, is the Fx5 a sturdy filter that will last me a while with minimal maintenace?

Anything else that I would need to know would be much appreciated by myself and our future fish.
Thank you.

Tazman 02-21-2012 10:59 PM

The FX5 has about the biggest media capacity of any filter.

I have 2, one on a 75g and one on a 180g tank. I keep Africian Cichlids which need extreme filtration.

It is very powerful but I think for Cardinals it would be too much flow for them.