Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   New to Hobby! Have two new goldfish, need help starting out! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/new-hobby-have-two-new-goldfish-93481/)

MidnightsMelody 02-16-2012 12:12 AM

New to Hobby! Have two new goldfish, need help starting out!

I am VERY new to all of this fish stuff. I had a very ugly betta for a year which lived in a bowl, until it jumped out of its bowl when I was not home and died :-(. I decided very recently to get a couple goldfish, knowing honestly nothing about goldfish at all. I originally got these very small goldfish and put them in a 5.5 gal tank. Well, I just so happened to be doing a project at school involving fish (the WORST and probably inhumane project my teacher could assign to us) and found out how huge goldfish grow.

Well, I bought a 25 gallon tank which is equipped with a 200 gph filter and a hood/light and has two java ferns attached to a piece of driftwood along with a large fake plant. I have one black pop-eyed goldfish and one fantail goldfish, both about an inch and a half to two inches in length. I have now a bunch of questions and am hoping to get a lot of input.