Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   HELP! im new to all of this (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/help-im-new-all-93369/)

hickmadv 02-14-2012 08:07 PM

HELP! im new to all of this

Im new to fish keeping and i need help i have a 55 gal freshwater tank i bought this tank used it was set up and came with some fish i moved it to my home and set it up about 3 weeks ago two of my silver dollars have little spots all over them could this be ick? all the other fish look just fine also my water has millions of very small bubbles all in it im not sure it sould look like this i have two bio wheel filters on it one is a big one up to 70 gal and one is small it up to 20 gal and i have a undergravel filter is this to much filter? thank all of you for any help you can give me

Tapil 02-14-2012 10:29 PM

You say you got a used tank that came with fish

How did you transport everything? Did you drain ALL the water out and put the fish in separate containers?

-If yes then you may have a cycle problem

The bubbles are from you filling a large sum of water up quickly which causes some sort of checmical reaction and makes some sort of dissolved-gas get trapped in your tank (Normally this is experienced during cycle but if your having cycle problems im not sure how this will play out for your fish)

I know everybody on here likes to scream this, and its really like beating a dead horse but. It is very likely that your fish's spots are caused by the water quality. Id say you could fix this by changing some water BUT if were on the cycle problem im not sure how to fix this.

Id get some test strips just to double check on the water quality as many members will drill this into your head.

Well hoping to hear from you :)