Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   What fish species OVER 3" mature can I stock in a 55 gallon tank? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/what-fish-species-over-3-mature-93149/)

Canadian Fish 02-12-2012 08:02 AM

What fish species OVER 3" mature can I stock in a 55 gallon tank?

I am a novice at this hobby, and this forum. Up until now we've just kept twin barred platies and julli corys in a 20 Gallon tank. We just bought a 200 Gallon tank that we are cycling.

As per my previous post, I would really like to try a Red Tailed Shark and I was wondering if I can keep the RTS, 2 Opaline Gouramis, and 7 Rosy Barbs together in the 55 Gallon tank?

However much of the info I'm getting back suggests with the RTS it is hit and miss if they will get along with other fish as they mature. So I am open to other suggestions.

Because we keep small fish in the 20 Gallon tank, i'd really like to keep most of the fish in the 55 Gallon tank to species that are at least 4" fully grown.

OR, if there is a species of fish that is 9 - 10" mature that I can use as a centrepiece for my tank, than I would be happy to stock the rest of the tank with smaller fish to complement the single large fish.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. We are excited to start stocking our new aquarium once it is cycled. The tank was a birthday present, I turn 37 today. Thanks!

ElectricBlueJackDempsey 02-12-2012 09:10 AM

Happy Birthday! Now onto the fish. I personally have never owned a Red Tailed Shark and thats because they can cause trouble in the tank. They are aggressive chasers, but they don't really harm your other fish but this can cause stress.