Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   beginner question on Nitrogen cycle (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/beginner-question-nitrogen-cycle-93067/)

pin21 02-11-2012 08:43 AM

beginner question on Nitrogen cycle

Hi,

I have a ten gallon and a 40 gallon fresh water aquarium. The 10 gallon tank seems to have completed the nitrogen cycle, and all levels are good, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. Having problems with the 40 gallon tank though.
I've had 11 Zebra danios in it for a month now. ( I know I should have done the fishless cycle, but I'm a newbie and the pet store guy said this was the best approach, so now I'm stuck)
I'm testing with the API liquid kit, and my Ammonia levels are still high after 1 month (1- 1.5 PPM) . Shouldn't the bacteria have started converting the ammonia by now? I had no problems like this with my 10 gallon tank. 2 weeks and the nitrogen cycle was complete.
Do I not have any bacteria in the tank? I've tried adding the enzymes and stuff to accelerate the bacteria growth, I've been doing weekly 10-20% water changes, but the bacteria don't seem to be doing their work.
Am I just not being patient enough and need to let the ammonia keep rising?
Water temp is set at 76F.
I have an Aqueon carbon filter which I haven't changed since I started the tank about a month ago

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

Tazman 02-11-2012 11:19 AM

Welcome to the forum.

What are your tests showing for Nitrite, Nitrate and also what is your kH and pH levels?

It might be that you are slightly over feeding which leads to a build up of organics quickly. There is no set time it takes for a tank to cycle, if you could provide the readings mentioned above then it wold help to see the general picture.