Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   new tank syndrome, need help fixing its please (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-tank-syndrome-need-help-fixing-91111/)

amy11 01-20-2012 04:13 PM

new tank syndrome, need help fixing its please

hi everyone im new to keeping fish......
heres my story so far.....
i was bought an aquaone 10 gal tank for xmas, it came with a light and filter.
i carefully wiped out the tank, cleaned the gravel and de-chlorinated the water.
i left its standing for a week while i researched what fish id like, i then bought a heater which i set at 25 centigrade.
2 days later i went into my local pet shop and was advised to buy black phantom tetras, which i did and they died less than a day later.
a few days later i took a water test sample to a different pet shop and they said everything was fine and advised to buy zebra danios which i did and they died 2 days later. i then went back to the first pet shop with a water test and they told me my nitrites and nitrates are to high and sold me an airstone to help and some stress zyme, i have recently bought an API test master kit which has given me the following results
ph:7.6
high ph:8.2
ammonia:2.0
nitrite 5.0
nitrate:80 ppm

i also tested my tap water and the nitrite and nitrate levels came up non existent.
my tank has now been running nearly a month and i still have no fishes:cry:, i dont know what to do to lower my the toxins in my water and i already do water changes each week of 25%.

can anyone help me as im about to give up on it all?

TheMaEsTrO 01-20-2012 06:02 PM